The Second Book Of Fritz Leiber

Five stories from 1950,54,61. and seven essays from 1948,61,63,74.

Favorites: “The Lion And The Lamb” (1950 novelette) – The Confederacy sends out an FTL ship to find some runaways from Earth that took a ship many years ago. The ship lands on a planet and finds the descendants of the original crew are now savages who want nothing to do with machines. They have some special powers of their own.

“Fafhrd And Me” (1963) – An essay explaining the origins of the characters Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser and how the big hero is based on himself.

“The Mechanical Bride” (1954) – If you order a robotic woman don’t have her designed by your ex-girlfriend.

“Through Hyperspace With Brown Jenkin” (1963) – For fans of H.P.Lovecraft, Leiber discusses his contributions to SF.

About vintage45

I'm a big fan of vintage books,movies,TV shows and music. I encourage everyone to patronize your local used book/record store and pick up some of the good stuff. My posts are capsule reviews of some favorites that you may want to investigate. The albums posted aren't really reviews but items from my collection that are still available. I try and point out highlights of each one and let the music speak for itself. Thanks to all for checking out the blog.
This entry was posted in Science Fiction, vintage books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s